Author Topic: Driving Licence Issue numbers  (Read 8537 times)

Offline Iggy

• Respect: 0
Driving Licence Issue numbers
« on: October 13, 2011, 05:45:18 PM »
Hi all..

Got a question about Driving Licence issue numbers and thought I might get an answer here.. (tried DVLA & DSA)

I work as a Motorcycle CBT / DAS Instructor and when I meet my customers I check their driving licences to ensure they have the correct provisional entitlement to take part in any on-road training.

In the past, if the issue number on the photocard and the counterpart didn't match, we would not allow any on-road training as they have been unable to produce a valid driving licence (they've shown me two halves of two licences).

We've now had instruction at work to accept licences with mis-matched issue numbers and continue with on-road training.

I know I can be charged with aiding and abetting if I supervise someone on the road with no provisional entitlement, but the question is, would I be under any responsibility by knowingly supervising someone on the road when I know that I've not seen a valid driving licence but a mis-matched card and counterpart??..

Thanks in advance..
CBR1100XX-5
Wey Valley Advanced Motorcyclists

Jab

Re: Driving Licence Issue numbers
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2011, 06:21:10 PM »
Hi Iggy. Why would there be any discrepancies between the photocard & paperpart, if it wasn't for the fact that the licences weren't one & the same?

Offline Iggy

« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2011, 06:28:11 PM »
If I am presented a photocard with the issue number 15, for example and a counterpart with the issue number 14, that's two halves of two licences. I have no way of knowing what endorsements/bans or provisional entitlement are in force. However, knowing this, my training school wish us to still take the holder on-road, even though I've not seen a valid licence.
CBR1100XX-5

Nigel

« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2011, 06:39:43 PM »