Author Topic: Regaining Licences after being banned for drink driving  (Read 4865 times)

Offline Elise78

• Respect: 0
Regaining Licences after being banned for drink driving
« on: June 12, 2008, 12:16:35 PM »
I'm a programme tutor with the probation service !2! and have just finished running a drink impaired driver's group.  During the second last session we give them a chance to ask any questions about having a criminal record/being disqualified/getting their licence back that they want answered.  About 90% of the time I can answer all of the questions they ask on the spot and usually if I can't it doesn't take much research to get the answer to give them in the final session.  But the most recent group were especially ingenious with their questions and there are three questions that I haven't been able to get answers to, no matter what I plug into google etc.  I'm hoping someone here can help me:

1.  If they had passed more than one type of driving test do they automatically get all of the categories on their licence restored when they apply to get it back (I'm almost sure that they don't get the LGV/PCV categories, but that they do get everything else) - the motorcyclists were especially concerned that they wouldn't get their bike licences back, but I said I was pretty sure they do - is that right?

2.  This is almost the same as the first one - for those who have only done one driving test (i.e. in a car), but did it long enough ago to have automatically got the licence that lets you drive up to 7.5 tonnes and 16 seater minibuses (C1, C1+E, D1 & D1+E), do they get that back when they reapply for it, or do they just get a licence that allows them to drive up to 3.5 tonnes (B & BE), the way people who passed more recently get as standard?